Women of Achievement Award


Shannon L. Taylor

The Honorable Mary B. Malveaux








The MRWBA is pleased to announce The Honorable Mary B. Malveaux and Shannon Taylor as our recipients of the 2016 Women of Achievement Award.  In recognition of the significant milestones of achievement for the history of women in the Virginia legal system that each of our honorees represents, our membership seeks to honor their noteworthy contributions and unique leadership qualities as members of the bench and members of the bar.

Judge Malveaux, in 2011 became the first woman elected to the Henrico County General District Court.  It was there that she earned a reputation as an esteemed jurist, and served as Chief Judge until being selected in 2016, for the Virginia Court of Appeals.

Shannon Taylor is the first female Commonwealth Attorney in the history of Henrico County.  She was recently elected to a second term as a Democrat in what is a highly conservative county, which speaks not only to her abilities, but also to her stature within the community.

We honor each our recipients for their public service, their talent and commitment, and as mentors within the legal community.  It is with sincere gratitude that they are counted among our membership and our profession.


The Honorable Mary B. Malveaux bio

Shannon L. Taylor bio


MRWBA Women of Achievement Award Recipients

2016    The Honorable Mary B. Malveaux and Shannon Taylor
2015    Tara L. Casey
2014    The Honorable M. Hannah Lauck
2013    The Honorable Mary E. Langer
2012    Stephanie E. Grana
2011    The Honorable Catherine C. Hammond
2010   Pamela S. Belleman
2009   The Honorable Cleo E. Powell
2008   The Honorable Audrey J. Franks and Maya Eckstein
2007   Karen Ann Gould
2006   Phoebe P. Hall
2005   Jacquelyn Stone
2004   Ann T. Burks and Barbara M. Rose
2003   Phyllis C. Katz
2002   Sharon S. England and Carolyn C. Lavecchia
2001    Darrel Tillar Mason
2000   Mary R. Spain
1999    Barbara Ann Williams
1998    Virginia H. Hackney and Barbara L. Hulburt
1997    Virginia S. Duvall
1996    Patricia M. Schwarzchild and Anne Marie Whittemore
1995    The Honorable Jean W. Cunningham, The Honorable Anne B. Holton,
Linda F. Rigsby, The Honorable Beverly W. Snukals
1994    Claire G. Cardwell,The Honorable Bonnie C. Davis, The Honorable Elizabeth B.                  Lacy,  Julie D. McClellan, Sharon O’Donnell, Virginia W. Powell, Debra                                J.Prillaman, and Karen A. Raschke

Comments are closed.